At the David W. Martin Law Group, our suspended driver’s license attorneys in Fort Mill understand the challenges of being stripped of your ability to drive, no matter how long the privilege has been taken away.
Having your license suspended does not change the fact that you have obligations, including getting to work, or taking your kids to school.
When your driver’s license is suspended in South Carolina, the last thing you need is to be caught driving without it, which could lead to expensive fines, additional time without a license, and even jail time.
The best course of action is to face your suspended license with a legal response, so you can get back behind the wheel without the constant worry and stress of being pulled over and increasing the charges that you are already facing.
To learn more about your legal rights and options after having your license revoked, contact our York County suspended license attorneys today.
What are the Most Common Reasons Drivers Licenses are Suspended in Fort Mill, South Carolina?
South Carolina has strict laws when it comes to license suspension, and last year alone the state revoked nearly 200,000 residents’ licenses for failing to pay outstanding traffic tickets.
Other common reasons our Fort Mill residents have their drivers’ licenses suspended may include:
- Driving Without the Minimum Vehicle Insurance Requirements
If you are pulled over for any traffic violation and cannot present valid insurance coverage at the time you are asked, you will receive a notice from the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles requiring you submit proof of insurance within a certain time limit or face a license suspension.
- Excessive Traffic Violations
Each South Carolina driver’s license is monitored by the DMV using a point system.
When a South Carolina driver receives 12 or more points on their license, it will be suspended for a pre-determined amount of time.
The South Carolina driver’s license point system works as follows:
- Speeding Over 25 mph: 6 points
- Hit & Run with Property Damage: 6 points
- Reckless Driving: 6 points
- Failure to Yield Right of Way: 4 points
- Passing Unlawfully: 4 points
- Disobeying any Traffic Control Device: 4 points
- Failing to Signal when Stopping or Turning: 4 points
- Driving on Wrong Side of the Road: 4 points
- Speeding between 10 – 25 mph: 4 points
- Following Too Closely: 4 points
- Improper Brake Lights: 4 points
- Driving Left of Center: 2 points
- Speeding 10 mph or Less: 2 points
- Improper Backing: 2 points
- Operating Vehicle in Unsafe Condition: 2 points
- Failing to Dim Headlights: 2 points
- Operating with Improper Lights: 2 points
- Unlawful Lane Change: 2 points
- Driving too Fast for Conditions: 2 to 6 points, which is determined at the officer’s discretion
As points accumulate, so does the length of the license suspension, including:
- 12 to 15 points: Three months
- 16 or 17 points: Four months
- 18 to 19 points: Five months
- 20 or more points: Six months
If your license is in danger of being suspended or has already been suspended for traffic violations, contact our experienced suspended license attorneys in Fort Mill to learn more about your legal options and how we can help you get your driving privileges back.
Will My License Automatically Be Suspended After a DUI or DUAC Arrest in South Carolina?
At the David W. Martin Law Group, our DUAC & DUI attorneys in Fort Mill understand that an arrest for driving under the influence is a frightening time for anyone.
Beyond spending the night in jail and explaining why you did not make it home or to work the next day, the consequences of a DUI or DUAC charge are far reaching and include having your driver’s license suspended.
If you refused the breathalyzer or blood test, or if the result of your test was a BAC of .15% or higher, your license will automatically be suspended.
Under any other circumstances, you may be eligible to pursue a temporary driver’s license after a DUI or DUAC charge in South Carolina, and our skilled attorneys can help walk you through the process, so you can get your life back on track without delay.
How Can I Request a Temporary Driver’s License After a DUI or DUAC Arrest in Fort Mill, South Carolina?
The first step in obtaining a Temporary Alcohol License after a Fort Mill DUI or DUAC arrest is filing for an administrative hearing within 30 days of the date of the arrest, which will allow you to drive until the official ruling on your license suspension.
Our experienced Fort Mill license suspension attorney will ensure the paperwork is filed on time, and in perfect form, so your chances of obtaining a Temporary Alcohol License increase.
What is a DUI or DUAC Provisional Driver’s License in Fort Mill, South Carolina?
In South Carolina, DUI or DUAC first offenders may pursue a Provisional Driver’s License that will allow them to drive under the conditions outlined in their agreement.
You may be eligible for a Provisional Driver’s License in South Carolina if:
- Your blood alcohol content was .14 or less at the time of arrest
- You have or have had a valid South Carolina state driver’s license
- You are enrolled in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program
- You have no other license suspensions after this one
- You have fulfilled any obligations of a previous suspension, when applicable
If you are ineligible for a Provisional Driver’s License in South Carolina, a Route Restricted License may be your only other option.
This hardship license will allow you to travel to, from, and during work or school, and any court-related appointments, including appearances and court-ordered treatment programs.
Contact Our Serious Suspended Driver’s License Lawyers in Fort Mill Today for a consultation
If your license has been suspended for any reason in South Carolina, contact our skilled suspended license attorneys in Fort Mill at the David W. Martin Law Group today by calling (803) 548-2468 to review your case with our experienced lawyers who are here to help you pursue positive results.