Our David W. Martin Law Group auto accident attorneys in Rock Hill know there are fewer events more devastating than being injured in a collision caused by a drunk driver.
These crashes are completely preventable, and often leave our South Carolina clients severely injured or left to deal with the tragic loss of a loved one.
Unfortunately, drunk driving crashes happen often. According to the South Carolina Annual Fact Book, on average, one person is killed in a DUI collision every 27.9 hours across the state.
With nearly 22,000 DUI arrests made annually in South Carolina, according to law enforcement, these crashes could impact anyone’s life, at any time, on our roadways. When they do, our skilled York County drunk driving accident, injury, and fatality attorneys want to help you and your family get the justice you deserve.
What is Considered Drunk Driving in South Carolina?
According to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety, South Carolina law prohibits a person from driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol to the extent that the person’s faculties to drive are materially and appreciably impaired.
If you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher, it will be inferred that you were driving under the influence. If you have a BAC that is at least .05%, but less than .08%, your BAC level may be considered along with other evidence to infer that you are under the influence.
Does a Drunk Driver Have to Be Arrested for a Personal Injury Case to Be Successful?
If you have been injured in a crash with a drunk driver — or any negligent driver — call the police from the accident scene. If your injuries allow, stay behind until the police arrive.
The police will interview all involved parties and obtain statements from any available witnesses at the scene. If the other driver smells of alcohol, or appears impaired in any way, law enforcement will take the lead in investigating his or her impairment and take the necessary steps to prove or deny that is true. That may include presenting the at-fault driver with a breathalyzer or blood test to determine their level of impairment, or to rule it out.
If the individual is deemed to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs, he or she will be arrested for causing the accident and charged with injuring another person or persons. This will be important evidence during your personal injury claim, as it allows our skilled attorneys to cite direct negligence as the cause of your crash and injuries.
If the driver is not arrested, we may still be able to prove his or her negligence caused the crash that led to your injuries, or the loss of your loved one, so you can pursue their insurance provider for your damages.
What Should I Do After Being Injured in an Accident Caused by a Drunk Driver in South Carolina?
If you have been injured in a crash with a drunk driver in South Carolina, seek medical care right away. Follow all your doctor’s care requirements, attend all follow-up appointments, and focus on getting your physical and emotional well-being back on track.
Next, contact our personal injury attorneys in Rock Hill at David W. Martin Law Group in South Carolina today by calling (803) 985-9200 to learn more about your legal rights and options to hold the negligent driver liable for your complete recovery needs.
We provide free consultations for all personal injury cases in South Carolina, and never charge any legal fees unless we deliver a positive outcome for your unique case.